Freak Out!

O.M.G. Yesterday will go down as one of the most SHOCKING days of my life (right up there with the day I found out I was expecting TWO babies instead of the most likely ONE!).

As many of you know, it’s getting close to tri-time…Ironman 70.3 Racine is only 3 weeks away.  For the past 17 weeks, I have been following my training program, as well as possible, to prepare myself for this epic event (and ONE TIME ONLY) event on Sunday, July 15th.  It was suggested this past week, that I venture to Racine and into Lake Michigan to become “one” with the water and my wetsuit.  So, that is what I did on this lovely summer weekend.

And for the first time, I am now having SERIOUS DOUBTS as to weather I can do this race.  The water temp in Racine yesterday at 8am was 50 degrees!  Yes, 5-0. OMG!  I FREAKED OUT!  It was SO COLD.  I was freeeeeeeeezing in my weh-weh-weh-weh-wetsuit (teeth chattering).  Even peeing in it (a lot!) did not warm me up much (I know, too much information, but at least I’m honest AND I was desperate).  It was a complete nightmare and total shock.  I was only able to tolerate 30 minutes of swimming….if you want to call it that – more like water ballet for a few moments followed by a several minutes of freak-out-swim-spasms.  And it’s going to take me a lot longer than 30 minutes to swim 1.2 miles!

AGH!

Of course I was not stupid enough to go on this adventure alone.  Thanks to my 2 other buddies that survived the frigid waters as well….and a GREAT BIG THANKS to my ONE buddy who thought this would be a FABULOUS idea to better prep us for the race.  Honestly, I am now more UNPREPPED, mentally, than ever.

***Deep breaths***

Today’s 11 mile run, and short swim (in the pool thank you very much) were much more encouraging than yesterday’s endeavor.  And tomorrow’s 3 hour bike ride and 1 hour run will be a breeze compared to yesterday morning.  The true test will be my next swim in Lake Michigan…and not sure exactly sure when that is going to happen.  But it will DEFINITELY not happen until I have my new neoprene booties on my feet 🙂

So, if you are looking for me over the next 3 weeks, please know I am alive….and truly questioning whether I am well.   If you have any FREAK OUT remedies, those are greatly appreciated….please post them here.  HELP!

About betterhealthbyheather

My name is Heather Ferber and health and wellness are my passion. As a mother of 3, wife, health coach, entrepreneur, Ironman, and volunteer, I know that optimal health is essential to meeting life's ever growing daily demands. I have a degree in Biology and Chemistry and an MD who lives in the house whom I can consult. I enjoy running, biking, swimming, wining, dining and raising my three little peeps. Along with my love of fitness, I am exploring the world of health, nutrition, and supplementation. I have spent many hours researching the formula for optimal health through diet, supplementation and exercise and I love to share my findings with friends, followers, and clients. Life is good! Get Better Health By Heather.
This entry was posted in General Health, Ironman Training, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Freak Out!

  1. Rebekah says:

    Iron Heather,

    What a trooper you were! Your tri baptism in Lake Michigan will serve you well on race day as the water never gets any warmer than 68 degrees. It’

    ll probably be around 60 to 65. Toasty! Or, it might be in the 50′ s and you will be prepared mentally while everyone else is freaking out. Either way, I know you will gut it out. (BTW: all the pros pee in their wet suits. They pee while riding the bike course too, but that’s a detail only the super fast age groupers have to worry about.)

    I wonder what kind of epic fitness adventures we’ll take next? Such wonderful photos over the past year of pink Warrior divas and neoprene beauties!

    Your buddy,

    Becky

    • Iron Becky,

      If the water could be 60 degrees, I think I would be very happy. Not sure though. Getting the damn booties just in case.

      Thank YOU for preparing me for this big shocker. So glad I did not wait until race day.

      Thankfully, I will be many, many miles behind the pros so I will not have to worry about being pee’d on during the bike course. And we know where the secret port-o-potties are located so that’s not going to be a problem for me.

      You, my dear, are a great inspiration and I feel GUILTY (Catholic of course) even complaining about this to you.

      I know my hubby is hoping my next epic fitness adventure is a bit more easy going than this event.

      Swim strong and stay warm,

      H

  2. Tanya says:

    Heather, you are a fantastic person. Your friend had a great idea to get used to the water. It is important that you have had lots of exporsure to it. But, just remember, the water still has 3 weeks to get a bit warmer. Hoping it will be at least 60 degrees by July. A lot happens in July with the lakes and rivers in Wisconsin, there is usually a big difference from June to July….. keep trying and remember, you are fabulous no matter what. I could never have done that.

    • Thank you so much Tanya. All the words of encouragement mean a lot and I will hold them in my heart when I jump into freezing Lake Michigan! I pray it is 100 degrees for the next 3 weeks, until July 14th and that the westerly winds go away so the warm water can stay on our side of the lake (instead of Michigan’s side). Also praying it is 70 and overcast on race day. Is that asking too much of the Big Man? Thanks again T!

Leave a comment