Cancer – A Few More Thoughts

As Breast Cancer Awareness Month comes to a close, I just wanted to share a few more thoughts with you.

October marked a major milestone for one of my beautiful and inspiring girl friends who has been battling breast cancer for well over a year.  She has been to hell and back over the past many months and if you ever met her, you would never know.  The smile that lights up her face is always present, along with her positive attitude and fighting determination.  She is an unbelievable inspiration!  This month, she underwent her bilateral reconstruction surgery and received wonderful news that she is breast cancer free!  Praying that she is blessed with the ability to experience happiness in her “new life.”

And then we have a friend who continues to battle, every day, and every moment to enjoy the time she has here with her family and friends.  Breast cancer is also her enemy, and it continues to challenge her other organs.  Praying that she can find the strength to continue the fight.

Then, there are those that have brought attention to the disease this month.  One of my friends shared an endearing story of her young son who has been wearing his PINK swim cap to practice this month.  It happened after he and his mother had been watching a pro football game. He asked about the pink shoes, etc. and his mom told him about Breast Cancer Awareness Month.  That got him thinking and he decided to make his own pink statement in the pool.  At first, the children thought it was funny. But then they heard the story behind the cap. One young boy approached Mr. Pink Cap and told him he appreciated the pink cap, and the awareness it created, because his mom had breast cancer.  Mr. PC’s response to his mother was, “If I made only one person feel good, it was worth it.”

As we move into November, (which marks Pancreatic Cancer Awareness Month, COPD Awareness month, Alzheimer’s Disease Awareness Month, American Diabetes Month, Lung Cancer Awareness Month, Crohn’s & Ulcerative Colitis Awareness Month, and National Pomegranate Month and more!), let us not forget everything we have learned about BC and the impact we women can have on our health and wellness.

 

About betterhealthbyheather

My name is Heather Ferber and health and wellness are my passion. As a mother of 3, wife, health coach, entrepreneur, Ironman, and volunteer, I know that optimal health is essential to meeting life's ever growing daily demands. I have a degree in Biology and Chemistry and an MD who lives in the house whom I can consult. I enjoy running, biking, swimming, wining, dining and raising my three little peeps. Along with my love of fitness, I am exploring the world of health, nutrition, and supplementation. I have spent many hours researching the formula for optimal health through diet, supplementation and exercise and I love to share my findings with friends, followers, and clients. Life is good! Get Better Health By Heather.
This entry was posted in General Health. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Cancer – A Few More Thoughts

  1. Molly says:

    No, you are the inspiration Heather for spreading the word on BC. You are a gift in my life!

Leave a comment