My Friend Dr. Mehmet C. Oz

A few years back I had this awesome job in the biotech/pharma world.  Interestinly, Dr. Mehmet C. Oz was one of the MD’s that my company was working with on the research and development of a heart failure medication.  In case you do not know, or have not walked down the check-out isle of your local grocery store in the past week, or watched a recent episode of Oprah, Dr.Oz is almost a household name now thanks to his great looking face and a few moments with Oprah.

So tonight, I sat down to watch some quality T.V. and I came across Dr. Oz’s show and he was quizzing audience members about what type of cheese was best for people with lactose intolerance (feta, swiss, or colby?  swiss- since it’s the most aged).  This brought back flashbacks to my very special day with Dr. Oz a few years back (did not realize how special it would be until I started seeing him in the print media and on TV on a weekly basis).

Dr. Oz is a Professor of Surgery at Columbia University College of Physicians & Surgeons in NY; he is the Medical Director of the Integrative Medicine Program at New York Presbyterian Hospital/Columbia University in NY;  he is an attending surgeon at NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital/Columbia University Medical Center, New York; and he is the star of his own prime time CBS show.

A few years back, I had the privilege of spending a day with Dr. Oz in the Milwaukee area.  He came to town to speak at St. Luke’s on the topic of heart failure. I had coordinated the meeting through the biotech company I was working with at the time. I picked Mehmet up at the airport,  chatted him up in the car all day, took a couple hours to drop him at St. Luke’s to speak about heart failure, went out for a cocktail, and then passed him off to the next rep who was going to use his speaking services in the Madison area.  After spending a fun day with Mehmet, I can tell you, he has a wonderful personality,truly enjoys his family and he’s not too hard on the eyes.  And I’m truly glad he has “made it big” to augment his tough career as a cardiac surgeon.  Had I known how big he was going to become, I would have picked his brain on how to get my own TV show as a biotech rep looking to make it big.

My day with Dr. Oz was truly a lesson in “you never know that the future may hold.”  This is a great lesson that motivates me to get healthy and stay healthy on a daily basis. I want my body prepared for the future, whatever it may bring.  And tonight has also got me thinking that I may need to get my own prime time health show in a couple years.  LOL! Guess I had better study up on my cheeses!

 

About betterhealthbyheather

My name is Heather Ferber and health and wellness are my passion. As a mother of 3, wife, health coach, entrepreneur, Ironman, and volunteer, I know that optimal health is essential to meeting life's ever growing daily demands. I have a degree in Biology and Chemistry and an MD who lives in the house whom I can consult. I enjoy running, biking, swimming, wining, dining and raising my three little peeps. Along with my love of fitness, I am exploring the world of health, nutrition, and supplementation. I have spent many hours researching the formula for optimal health through diet, supplementation and exercise and I love to share my findings with friends, followers, and clients. Life is good! Get Better Health By Heather.
This entry was posted in General Health. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Friend Dr. Mehmet C. Oz

  1. Amy Merrick says:

    Such a great story! Dr. Oz is great!

Leave a Reply

