Going Green

Heading to an EGJG meeting tonight.  This year, our president chose the theme of “Going Green.”  As I’m preparing for the meeting tonight, I thought this is a prefect theme for my blog entry today.

When I think of “Going Green” the first thing that comes to my crazy mind is my lovely world of vegetables and fruits.  (I always think about food first before I think of garbage or recyclables.) Green foods are great for providing a wide range of vitamins and minerals and adding fiber to one’s diet.  Green foods have actually been shown to impede the development of cancer according to the American Cancer Society.  So here’s my top 10 list of favorites for “Going Green”:

1. Broccoli – contains vitamins A, C, K, fiber and folate                                                                2. Spinach – contains vitamins A & K,  iron and folate                                                                 3. Kiwi – vitamins C, E, magnesium, and potassium                                                                      4. Honeydew – contains B6, C, folate and potassium                                                                     5. Celery –  high fiber, calcium                                                                                                         6. Green Pepper – vitamin C                                                                                                             7. Asparagus – high fiber                                                                                                                   8. Green Beans – vitamins A, C, iron, calcium                                                                               9. Arugula – vitamins A, C, calcium                                                                                               10. Kale – vitamin C, vitamin K, leutin, calcium

Hoping I have a few green friends out there who enjoy a variety of veges and fruits on my Top 10 list.  Any other green veges and fruits that you all enjoy?  Do share!  It’s not easy going green…but your body will thank you.

About betterhealthbyheather

My name is Heather Ferber and health and wellness are my passion. As a mother of 3, wife, health coach, entrepreneur, Ironman, and volunteer, I know that optimal health is essential to meeting life's ever growing daily demands. I have a degree in Biology and Chemistry and an MD who lives in the house whom I can consult. I enjoy running, biking, swimming, wining, dining and raising my three little peeps. Along with my love of fitness, I am exploring the world of health, nutrition, and supplementation. I have spent many hours researching the formula for optimal health through diet, supplementation and exercise and I love to share my findings with friends, followers, and clients. Life is good! Get Better Health By Heather.
This entry was posted in General Health, Nutrition, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Going Green

  1. darby says:

    One of the very best and yummiest is avocado!!!

    • Love avacados Darby (also known as the “Alligator Pear”). Although they are higher in fat, it is good fat. They also contain vitamins A, B, C, E, minerals and some omega-3’s (I think). A great addition to my Going Green list. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

