Make Your Heart Happy

February is American Heart Month, in case you have not already heard it 100 times.  But there is a reason we hear so much about it – heart disease is the most common illness in the United States and the number 1 killer of women.  In 2010, approximately 785,000 Americans suffered their first heart attack and 470,000 suffered a recurrent attack (numbers according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)).

That breaks down to someone having a heart attack about every 25 seconds!

Your heart is crucial to proper blood flow and oxygenation in your body. It is one of the few muscles that is continuously at work and has tremendous impact on the function of every other bodily system.  Your heart health is a strong determining factor in your overall physical health.

Just this week, my dear friend Boni Wendel, appeared the on the Morning Blend.  Boni is a nurse practitioner with Columbia St. Mary’s where she works with their women’s Heart Secrets program.  Take 5 minutes to listen to Boni’s interview:

Boni Wendel on the Morning Blend

Boni will be giving a women’s wellness presentation at my home on Wednesday, March 9th. Mark your calendars for an excellent speaker and look for more details coming soon.  Please post if you would like to be included on the email invitation list.

About betterhealthbyheather

My name is Heather Ferber and health and wellness are my passion. As a mother of 3, wife, health coach, entrepreneur, Ironman, and volunteer, I know that optimal health is essential to meeting life's ever growing daily demands. I have a degree in Biology and Chemistry and an MD who lives in the house whom I can consult. I enjoy running, biking, swimming, wining, dining and raising my three little peeps. Along with my love of fitness, I am exploring the world of health, nutrition, and supplementation. I have spent many hours researching the formula for optimal health through diet, supplementation and exercise and I love to share my findings with friends, followers, and clients. Life is good! Get Better Health By Heather.
This entry was posted in General Health, Heart Health. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Make Your Heart Happy

  1. Jennifer says:

    Wait a minute…I have an egg once or twice a week for breakfast, the other days steel cut oatmeal or yogurt/granola/fruit. I might need to hear more! Informative post & video Heather. ~J

  2. darby says:

    would love to come to this!
    thank you
    darb

  3. cathy says:

    A great book relating to this topic is Prevent and Reverse Heart Disease by Caldwell Esselstyn . He has saved many lives through diet.

Leave a Reply

